Chocolate Pistachio Biscotti

Today, I was reminded of how much I love to bake.

More often than not, I bake late on Monday or Tuesday evening, usually because I ran out of time or was too lazy on Sunday. I’m baking then because I have to – my little muffins are essential and delicious calories that I need every morning. Mentally exhausted and far from motivated, baking becomes a chore; one usually riddled with eggs on the floor, flour covering every surface and, sometimes, a minor meltdown. Not my finest.

Today was different. I had an idea, adapted a recipe and baked. Sure, there were messes. Matt had to step in to chop the pistachios before I cut a finger off. The dough looked like a giant turd. But it worked!

It worked so well that Matt brewed some espresso from our trip to Florence (the bitter, sludge-like kind that makes my fingers jump across the keyboard) and we dunked our biscotti like true Italians.

As my favorite gluten-free storyteller would say… La dolce vita, senza glutine.

Enjoy!

{Chocolate Pistachio Biscotti}

Adapted from David Lebovitz’s Chocolate Biscotti Recipe.

280 g Cooqi Multi-Purpose Flour
75 g unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
¼ tsp salt
3 eggs
200 g sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
½ tsp almond extract
125 g coarsely chopped pistachios
120 g chocolate chips

1 egg
1 tbsp sugar

Preheat oven to 350°F. Sift flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt together. In a separate mixing bowl, beat eggs, sugar, vanilla extract and almond extract. Then slowly add dry ingredients, nuts and chocolate chips to the wet mixture.

Line a baking sheet with a silpat or parchment paper. With your hands, mold the dough into two logs (at this point, it should really look like a turd, and that’s okay). Transfer the dough to baking sheet.

Beat the remaining egg, brush it on the dough and sprinkle sugar on top.

Bake for 25 minutes, or until dough is firm. Let cool for 15 minutes. Transfer to cutting board and, with a bread knife, gently cut ½ inch slices.

Lay slices down on the baking sheet and bake for 20 more minutes. Let cool.

Store in an airtight container for up to two weeks. Well, I am told that they can last for two weeks. I will bring mine to the office tomorrow morning and they likely won’t make it past 9:00 a.m.

Leave a Reply

